Published titles > Architecture > The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20
The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 cover image
UK £40.00
US $70.00
CAN $90.99
256 pages
320 colour illustrations, 80 plans
29 x 25 cm (11.5 x 9.75 in)
ISBN: 978-1-8589-4654-2
The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20

Tony Chapman

Foreword by Sir David Chipperfield


The Stirling Prize is among the world’s most prestigious architectural awards. Named after the British post-war architect Sir James Stirling (1926–1992), the prize is awarded annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) to the architects of the building that has made the most significant contribution in the past year to the evolution of architecture and the built environment. The list of shortlisted and winning buildings since the prize began in 1996 – including such diverse projects as the Media Centre at Lord’s Cricket Ground by Future Systems, Herzog & de Meuron’s Laban dance centre in Deptford, and the Maxxi National Museum, Rome, by Zaha Hadid Architects – reads like a primer to the very best of contemporary British architecture. Written by Tony Chapman, the RIBA’s former Head of Awards, this book honours all shortlisted and winning buildings from the first 20 years of the prize. Detailed commentaries explain how each winning building was planned and constructed, and reveal the thoughts of the Stirling jury; commentaries are also provided for the shortlisted buildings from the most recent decade of the prize, 2006–15. Chapman’s introduction considers the award’s history from its low-key beginnings to the present day, when the prize, indeed architecture in general, has a far higher public profile. Illustrated throughout with photographs, plans and drawings, The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 is a true celebration of British architectural talent.


A showcase of all shortlisted and winning buildings throughout 20 years of one of the world’s best-known architectural awards; click 'More Information' and scroll down for the complete list

Features some of the most popular works of contemporary British architecture, from the Gateshead Millennium Bridge to 30 St Mary Axe (the ‘Gherkin’), London, and the Everyman Theatre, Liverpool

Essential reading for anyone interested in architecture and design

Published in association with the Royal Institute of British Architects, London

Buy online
Find your local bookstore
Bookmark and Share
Author Profile

Tony Chapman was Head of Awards at the Royal Institute of British Architects from 1998 to 2016. He was made an Honorary Fellow of the RIBA in 2011.

Foreign Rights Enquiries
Rights are available
More Information

List of Stirling Prize winning buildings and their architects:

1996: The Centenary Building, University of Salford, Salford: Hodder Associates

1997: The Music School, Stuttgart, Germany: Michael Wilford & Partners

1998: American Air Museum in Britain, Imperial War Museum, Duxford: Foster + Partners

1999: NatWest Media Centre, Lord's Cricket Ground, London: Future Systems

2000: Peckham Library and Media Centre, London: Alsop & Störmer

2001: Magna Science Adventure Centre, Rotherham: Wilkinson Eyre Architects

2002: Gateshead Millennium Bridge, Gateshead: Wilkinson Eyre Architects

2003: Laban, London: Herzog & de Meuron

2004: 30 St Mary Axe, London: Foster + Partners

2005: The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh: EMBT and RMJM

2006: New Area Terminal, Barajas Airport, Madrid: Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners with Estudio Lamela

2007: Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar: David Chipperfield Architects

2008: Accordia, Cambridge: Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Maccreanor Lavington and Alison Brooks Architects

2009: Maggie's London, London: Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

2010: MAXXI, Rome: Zaha Hadid Architects

2011: Evelyn Grace Academy, London: Zaha Hadid Architects

2012: Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge, Cambridge: Stanton Williams

2013: Astley Castle, Nuneaton: Witherford Watson Mann Architects

2014: Everyman Theatre, Liverpool: Haworth Tompkins

2015: Burntwood School, London: Alford Hall Monaghan Morris

  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #1
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #2
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #3
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #4
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #5
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #6
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #7
  • The RIBA Stirling Prize: 20 sample spread #8